My 2017 in Review

2017 has been a long year for me. It certainly felt long. And I’m not all that sure I got much done, but I feel exhausted beyond measure. Oh well. I have more to get done in 2018 and with any luck it’ll be a bit more conductive towards the work I want to get done. On with the excuses.

If you’re reading this then you probably know already, but 2017 was the year I published my first collection of short stories, Hole in the Sky. It is available on Kindle and in paperback. You can also get it on Smashwords, if you like.

Speaking of Smashwords, I haven’t had all that much response to releasing my books on it. If you really wanna get my stuff free from the tentacles of Amazon, then please make sure to get my stuff on Smashwords, or otherwise let me know.

2017 was also the year that I decided to quit smoking. I wrote a bit about it here. I am still not smoking and I still want a cigarette, but it is getting a bit easier as time goes by.

In terms of books I read this year, here are some of the ones that had enough of an effect on me that I wanted to write about them.

I read a *lot* of John le Carré this year. He’s one of my new favourite writers. I wrote a short comparison between his works and Ian Fleming’s. We were also blessed with a new spy novel from le Carré, and I wrote about that, too.

I picked up The Martian five years after everybody else did and enjoyed it enough that I finished it in pretty much one sitting. I loved it deeply and can’t recommend it enough if you’re on the fence. It was popular enough that you’ll probably find a copy for fifty pence in any given charity shop, so have a look.

Last year was very difficult for me in a lot of ways (see; quitting smoking) but throughout it I had a companion in that difficulty, and that was Fernando Pessoa’s The Book of Disquiet. For those sick and sad of heart and mind, whether temporarily or otherwise, this is required reading. It won’t help, but you won’t be alone.

I also published a small piece on David Kushner’s Masters of Doom, a book I’d wanted to read ever since I was a kid and heard about it from gaming magazines. For fans of Doom and Quake, or ’90s gaming in general, it is a must.

In the same vain as my post on Joyce, I also wrote a post on Philip K. Dick, detailing where you might start if you’re new to him. We move ever further into the future he realised was coming, so now might be a good time to familiarise yourself.

Speaking of familiarising yourself, I wrote a couple of posts about all the works of literature in the public domain and how you can go about reading them. Give them a look if, like me, you start every new year thinking, “I didn’t read enough last year, next year will be different.”

Speaking of which, I read 56 books last year. My intention of gaming my Goodreads challenge worked and I am going to set my challenge this year to the same arbitrarily low 20 books.

On another tack, I did also write down a list of books that I wanted to read in 2017. Well, it’s over now, so it might be a good time to look back and think about what of that reading I did or didn’t do, and reasons why. I’ll go over this in another post.

I think that’s it. I hope you had a good new year and 2018 brings you all the things you want. As per usual I’ll be keeping you up to date with what I am doing. Make sure to follow me on Twitter and Facebook if you want to know what’s going on with my work. I am also considering starting up a mailing list, so watch this space.


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: