Some Doom Resources

I recently played the new Doom game (I wrote about it here) and I also read Masters of Doom (I wrote about it here). This got me in the mood to revisit the original games, which led to me playing all the way through Doom 2 for the first time ever. I couldn’t really say why I’d never played it all the way through before, but I can say that the first Doom means a lot more to me simply because I played it first. I downloaded the shareware episode using the 56k modem on my first computer sometime around the year 2000. Doom 2 never had a shareware episode.

Yes, I love the super shotgun. But fucking hell I *hate* the fucking arch-viles. Which bodes well for me, because despite Final Doom being the first Doom release I ever owned, I’ve never beaten either Plutonia or TNT, and will probably be playing those next.

I looked up a few levels on youtube because I got stuck, and I fell down a rabbit hole. I’ve since come across a whole bunch of interesting stuff relating to the Doom games, and wanted to link to some of it here. If I come across any more, I’ll add it. If you have any suggestions, let me know in the comments.

First of all, there’s Doomworld, which is the main community hub for the Doom games nowadays. Forums, .wad reviews, new releases.

Then there’s the idgames archives, where you’ll find most doom .wads.

Everything has a wiki nowadays, and Doom is no different.

I also came across a couple of websites that review doom .wads. There’s One Man Doom for example. There’s also the delightfully web 1.0 Doom Wad Station.

And here are some youtube videos I found interesting.

Leave a Reply

