A Personal Canon

I saw this personal canon on another site and thought it’d be an interesting exercise. It was very hard for me to come up with things at first, and then it was difficult to stop myself, because I guess they won’t let you take a loaded kindle. I am as annoyed as you are by the lack of women and writers of colour and am doing my best to correct it. I know this list makes me look like an asshole but I swear I am not. But then, they all do, don’t they?

Ulysses by James Joyce

Naked Lunch by William S. Burroughs

The poems of T.S. Eliot

The (imagist) poems of Ezra Pound

Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

The stories of Franz Kafka

The Trial by Franz Kafka

Mrs. Dalloway by Virignia Woolf

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

The Thread in the Carpet by Henry James

Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov

Pale Fire by Vladimir Nabokov

The Awakening by Kate Chopin

Image, Music, Text by Roland Barthes

The essays of George Orwell

The poems of P.B. Shelley

The Secret Agent by Joseph Conrad

Labyrinths by Jorge Luis Borges

A Scanner Darkly by Philip K. Dick

The short stories of Philip K. Dick

A Farewell to Arms by Ernest Hemingway

Things I haven’t read (yet) but would take with me to a desert island

(I’ve talked before about grand reading projects)

Homer

The Bible

The Koran

The Torah

Plato

Dickens

The rest of the romantics

Tolstoy

Dostoyevsky

Chekov

The rest of Woolf

Austen

The Brontes.

 

I must stop myself, and so I stop myself.

Leave a Reply

